Skip to content

Congratulations to all of the teams who competed in the 2019 Negotiating Outcomes on Time (Noot) competition. The 2019 competition was the first to include law schools from three States, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia. The AAT used Skype-for-Business web conferencing for a number of interstate connections. The Grand Finals were held in Brisbane on 31 May 2019. This year, first place was awarded to the University of Southern Queensland students Katrina Cole, Francesca Horchner and David Rawnsley (reserve).

First Place

First Place: (From left) AAT Deputy President Bernard McCabe; First Place team members, Katrina Cole and Francesca Horchner; Kay Feeney from the Resolution Institute.

resolution institute logo

The AAT is grateful for the Resolution Institute’s continued support as the major sponsor for the competition prizes. Resolution Institute, with over 3000 members, is the largest membership organisation for dispute resolvers in Australia and New Zealand. Resolution Institute promotes excellence in mediation, arbitration, negotiation and other forms of dispute resolution.


Second Place

Second Place: (from left) Piper Guthrie and Anna Kretowicz from University of Queensland.  

Best Communicator

Best Communicator:  Laura Elliot (Right) from Bond University with AAT Deputy President Bernard McCabe.  


Third Place

Third Place: (From left) Third place team members Maxine Johnson, Laura Dawson and Liam Ross (reserve) from Queensland University of Technology.


The format for the negotiation competition is based on the AAT’s conciliation process model. To support co-operative rather than competitive negotiation, the scoring system permitted both teams in each negotiation round to receive strong scores and progression is based on teams overall cumulative scores across multiple negotiations. The top teams demonstrated consistently strong collaborative negotiation skills and were very deserving of the following places and awards:




First Place

University of Southern Queensland  


Katrina Cole

Francesca Horchner

David Rawnsley

Second Place

University of Queensland

Piper Guthrie

Anna Kretowicz

Hannah Whitton

Third Place

Queensland University of Technology

Laura Dawson

Maxine Johnson

Liam Ross

Best Communicator       

Bond University

Laura Elliott

Highly commended

Bond University

Blake Lam

Laura Elliott

Luke Ashton


University of Western Australia

Isabella Wilson

Marian Leggett

Zak O'Neil


Bond University

Andrew Bae

Marcus Malouf

Millie Jones

The AAT also thanks Angela Durocher, Jenny Lock and Alicia Le’Roy for coordinating the Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth sites. The AAT acknowledges the work of the conference registrar team, members, IT support and front of house staff in delivering another successful competition.

Any enquiries regarding the competition can be sent by email to Justin Toohey, Director ADR, at

You can read more about the 2019 Noot competition here