On 26 May 2017, the AAT held the finals for the Negotiating Outcomes on Time (Noot) Competition in Brisbane. Congratulations to all 10 teams of Queensland and South Australian law students who took part in the competition. The students demonstrated both their legal acumen and highly developed skills in collaborative problem-solving. Well done to our top teams who were awarded the following:

First place

  • Lachlan Stewart and Elizabeth Hatcher, Bond University.

Second place

  • Julius Moller and Emily McClelland, University of Queensland.

Third place

  • Megan Lawson, Kavita Bhela and Danielle Court, University of Adelaide.

Best communicator

  • Elizabeth Hatcher, Bond University.

Highly commended

  • Suvradip Maitra and Amye Fairbairn, University of Queensland.
  • Tristan Hall, Katie-Lea Mills and Laura Falkner, Queensland University of Technology.
  • Georgina Portelesi, Mara Morrigan and Laura Helmore, Flinders University.

This is the fourth year that the AAT has run this negotiation competition and the first year that it has been offered to students outside of Queensland. In 2017, the AAT was very pleased to welcome five teams from South Australian law schools. The inclusion of more than one state has also allowed ADR practitioners at the AAT to continue to improve our familiarity with the use of video-conferencing in conciliations. The AAT will be looking to increase the use of video technology in ADR as part of the AAT’s digital transition strategy.

First Place: Hon Justice John Logan RFD, Interim President of the AAT (Centre) presents the First Place trophy to Lachlan Stewart (Left) and Elizabeth Hatcher (Right) from Bond University.

Second Place: Emily McClelland (Left) and Julius Moller from the University of Queensland with their Second Place trophy. 

Third Place: Megan Lawson, Danielle Court, and Kavita Bhela from the University of Adelaide with AAT Conference Registrar Jennifer Lock (Second from Left).


Best communicator:  Well done Liz Hatcher from Bond University. Member of the first place team and awarded overall best communicator!

Highly Commended: Amye Fairbairn (Left) and Suvradip Maitra from the University of Queensland.


The competition was only possible with sponsorship and volunteers. The Resolution Institute has once again provided mediation courses as the major prizes for the first placed team which will be of great benefit to these aspiring lawyers and ADR practitioners.

Special thanks to Conference Registrar Jennifer Lock for all her efforts in coordinating the participation of South Australian teams. Thank you also to our AAT volunteers: Officers Jonathan Chabowski, Veronika Limu, Massimo Cannavo, Edison Wang and Peter Goellnicht; Conference Registrars Mersina Stratos, Nicole Barker, Jodie Gamble, Kim Richardson, Mary Desses, Athena Ingall, Franca Petrone and Stephen Shepherd, District Registrar Cathy Cashen, Director ADR Justin Toohey and Hon Justice John Logan RFD, Interim President of the AAT and Judge of the Federal Court of Australia. 

More information about the 2017 Noot competition is available here.